HELP SB2279 SUCCEED IN NORTH DAKOTA

SB2279 is an important milestone for the LGBTQ community in North Dakota. Ensuring equal access to protections that prohibit discrimination regarding housing, employment, and public accommodations would improve the lives of LGBTQ North Dakotans, their families, friends, and allies. Questions about SB2279? Check out this comprehensive Questions & Answers FAQ.

Below are four ways you can start helping today!

Read more about SB2279 here: http://www.legis.nd.gov/assembly/64-2015/documents/15-0742-01000.pdf?20150312201331

1. CONTACT YOUR HOUSE REPRESENTATIVES

The Human Services Committee hearing was on Monday, March 23, but no formal recommendations have been made. Please reach out to the following committee members, as well as your local representatives, in support of SB2279. Sharing your personal stories and/or experiences (if you are safely able to do so) or general support for nondiscrimination in North Dakota will go long way in securing support in the House.

NAME & CITY EMAIL PHONE
Robin Weisz, Hurdsfield rweisz@nd.gov 701-962-3299
Curt Hofstad, Devils Lake chofstad@nd.gov 701-740-7437
Bert Anderson, Crosby bertanderson@nd.gov 701-641-1549
Dick Anderson, Willow City dickanderson@nd.gov 701-228-4782
Rich S. Becker, Grand Forks rsbecker@nd.gov 218-779-5736
Chuck Damschen, Hampden cdamschen@nd.gov 701-370-1758
Alan Fehr, Dickinson afehr@nd.gov 701-590-0136
Dwight Kiefert, Valley City dhkiefert@nd.gov 701-490-0443
Gail Mooney, Cummings gmooney@nd.gov 701-436-5010
Naomi Muscha, Enderlin nmuscha@nd.gov 701-793-0326
Kylie Oversen, Grand Forks koversen@nd.gov 701-590-3420
Todd Porter, Mandan tkporter@nd.gov 701-667-2922
Jay Seibel, Beulah jayseibel@nd.gov 701-870-1279

For your convenience, a quick copy-and-paste list of the entire committee:

rweisz@nd.gov; chofstad@nd.gov; bertanderson@nd.gov; dickanderson@nd.gov; rsbecker@nd.gov; cdamschen@nd.gov; afehr@nd.gov; dhkiefert@nd.gov; gmooney@nd.gov; nmuscha@nd.gov; koversen@nd.gov; tkporter@nd.gov; jayseibel@nd.gov

Because the upcoming floor vote will be important, don’t forget to contact your legislators! To search for yours, go to http://www.legis.nd.gov/. There have recently been some issues with the “Find My Legislator” link, so hopefully those will get fixed soon. You can also look up your legislators by district.

Thank you for reaching out!

We need you to share why this legislation is important to you in order to see it passed. Every contact you can make has an impact on when all North Dakotans will have equality.

 2. I SUPPORT SB2279 BECAUSE

Want to make an even bigger impact? After you contact your representatives, consider downloading and printing this sign and tell us why YOU support SB2279! Upload your photos on social media and tag them #VoteYES2279. The ND Human Rights Coalition, Dakota OutRight, and other organizations will collect and share these photos.

Click here to download the printable sign!

3. CHANGE YOUR FACEBOOK COVER

Another way you can show your support is by changing your Facebook cover photo. This was created by activist Kevin R. Tengesdal of Bismarck. Thanks, Kevin!

SB 2279 facebook cover photo

4. SIGN THE PETITION!

AFL-CIO ND logo

Click here to sign the AFL-CIO North Dakota’s petition in support of SB2279

 

GET CONNECTED ON SOCIAL MEDIA

ND Human Rights Coalition Logo      OneND